Agenda and minutes

Extraordinary, Council - Wednesday, 4th October, 2023 6.00 pm

Venue: G107, 1st Floor, South West Institute Development Building, Petroc, Barnstaple - Petroc College. View directions

Contact: Corporate and Community Services  01271 388253

Note: For meetings held at Petroc College, you can join the meeting virtually via Microsoft Teams. There are also limited spaces to attend the meeting in person. If you would like to join the meeting virtually or in person please contact Corporate and Community Services by 12pm 2 working days prior to the meeting by telephone 01271 388253 or email All meetings are recorded and uploaded to the Council’s YouTube channel . If you attend virtually, please be aware that your phone number and/or your email address will be visible to councillors and officers of North Devon Council attending the committee but will not be visible to members of the public. This is required to allow you to be identified on Microsoft Teams, software used by the Council to hold virtual meetings, and will not be used for any other purpose by the Council. For more information, or to exercise your rights, visit 


No. Item


Apologies for absence


Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Bell, Bishop, Crabb, D. Knight, Lane, Lethaby and Renshaw.  


Business brought forward by or with the consent of the Chair


There were no items brought forward by or with the consent of the Chair.


Declarations of Interest

(NB. Members only need to re-declare any interests previously declared at Committee and Sub-Committee meetings if the item is discussed at Council).



There were no declarations of interest announced.


Appointment of Aldermen/Alderwomen pdf icon PDF 197 KB


Council considered a report by the Chief Executive (circulated previously) regarding the appointment of Honorary Aldermen/Alderwomen.


Councillor Wilkinson addressed Council in support of the nomination of Geoffrey Fowler.


Councillor Prowse addressed Council in support of the nomination of Yvette Gubb.


Councillor Worden addressed Council in support of the nomination of Derrick Spear


Councillor Hunt addressed Council in support of the nomination of Joe Tucker.


It was moved by Councillor Biederman and seconded by Councillor Roome that the recommendation be adopted.


RESOLVED that the following people be appointed to be Honorary Aldermen/Alderwoman in recognition of the long and eminent service that each has given to North Devon Council, to local government and to the community:


Geoffrey Fowler

Yvette Gubb

Derrick Spear

Frederick (Joe) Tucker


The Chair presented a certificate to the Honorary Aldermen and Alderwoman.


Yvette Gubb, Geoffrey Fowler, Derrick Spear and Joe Tucker addressed Council and thanked Council for being appointed.